Sebastian Gashgai

I was born and raised in Germany and moved to Sacramento in 2012 to be close to my mom and step father who also live in West Sacramento.

I have a twin sister who still lives in Germany. I have been working for the State of California since 3 years ago and  recently bought my first   house and became a “Local”. I’ve been working in my house (built in 1950’s) every opportunity I get: paint, cleaning the carpet, electrical work, making planter boxes in the back and front, painting my kitchen cabinets, …… Does it ever end?

I will use the opportunity to further improve our community. I am always happy to give a helping hand.

Q: Please tell us a little bit about your family.
My mom and step dad live right here. I have a twin sister who lives in Germany. My grand parents (85 years old) also live in Germany just outside of Oldenburg. Little town. Even Germans haven’t heard of it.

Q: Please tell us about your current, past, or future career. What do you love most about what you do?
I am working for the state (DMV) and I’m climbing up  up the ladder.

Q: What are a couple of your favorite restaurants in our community?
You can’t go wrong with Burgers and Brew. I think their burgers are awesome I really love their fries (Forgot the name: with chicken and garlic. It’s a meal by itself)

A couple of the local breweries are on my “check out” list. I do love beer but I’m not totally crazy about it like people expect me to be.

Q: How long have you lived or worked in our community?
I moved into my house in February 2021 but lived here for a few years before.

 

Q: If you could travel anywhere in the world right now, where would it be and why?
Germany. I haven’t been able to go back since I moved here. I want to visit Germany this time as an adult. I have not been to southern part, Bayern. I love football, no not soccer. FOOTBALL. LOL  and my favorite team is Bayern Munich.

Honestly, I’m a bit intimidated: They speak with southern accent and it’s hard for me to understand it. (I’ve even forgotten some of my own German. Who knew? Right? “Use it or lost it” is so when it comes to languages.

Q: What is one of your favorite movies? TV shows?
The Office. Can’t go wrong with Michael Scott and Dwight.  White Collar, football. (Soccer)

Q: What advice would you give to people?
Lets keep our community clean and pretty.

Q: What is something on your bucket list?
Visiting Asia.

Q: What is your go to band when you cant decide what to listen to?
Kollegah

 

Q: If you could choose anyone that is alive today and not a relative; with whom would you love to have lunch? Why? And where locally would y’all meet for this lunch?
Thomas Mueller, he plays for Bayern Munich and we would go to Burgers and Brews

Q: What is your favorite thing or something unique about our community?
It is close to downtown. And my neighbor Bill. He is such a great guy: He actually cuts the grass for a few our neighbors who can’t take care of their own lawns.

Q: Where do you see yourself in 5 to 10 years?
On the top of my department and still living in this house.

Q: (Even for friends or family), what is something interesting that most people don’t know about you?
Always happy to help

Q: What is the most beautiful place you have ever been?
South Lake Tahoe

Q: Favorite month? favorite holiday? and best single day on the calendar?
December, Christmas, and Thanksgiving

Q: What would you rate a 10 out of 10?
A day up in Lake Tahoe, kayaking in a see through kayak. (Havn’t done it yet)

Q: Who inspires you to be better?
My mother and Father

Q: What is one or two of your favorite smells?
Snowy air and McDonalds

Q: What is one business you would like to have in West Sacramento? (which we don’t have one already)
A good steak house

Q: Finally, what 3 words or phrases come to mind when you think of the word HOME?
comfort, peace and family