Jackie Brady

Let me introduce to you Jackie Brady. Jackie is a mom, a wife and  a veterinarian.

I was born and raised in Pendleton, Oregon (a small town in Eastern Oregon famous for its wool, rodeo, and whisky). I earned my BS from the University of Oregon (GO DUCKS!), followed by my DVM, MS, and residency training at Oregon State University. I spent a couple of years in LA and the Bay Area before moving to West Sacramento about 2 years ago.
As you may have guessed, I am an animal lover (and a dog fanatic). I also love music, sports, hiking, puzzles, eating dessert, and international travel.

Q: Please tell us a little bit about your family.
My wonderful husband, Sean, and I have been married for 6 years (together for 16). Sean is also a veterinarian. We recently had a daughter, Jovie, who is our little ray of sunshine. We also have two dogs, Coral and Malcolm, a scruffy little mutt and a CKCS, respectively. My parents, sister, and most of my extended family live in the Pacific Northwest.

Q: Please tell us about your current, past, or future career. What do you love most about what you do?
I received my DVM in 2012, spent a couple of years as an emergency veterinarian in Los Angeles, and then completed a 3-year residency in Clinical Pathology at OSU. I am currently working at a laboratory in Davis. As a veterinary clinical pathologist, I diagnose disease by evaluating cytology samples, blood, body fluids, etc. My job is quite different than that of a typical veterinarian – I spend a lot of the day looking through a microscope. Even though I no longer see pets, I still get to play an integral role in their care.

Q: What are a couple of your favorite restaurants in our community?
Whitey’s Jolly Kone, Raku Sushi, Chando’s Tacos

Q: How long have you lived or worked in our community?
Lived here for almost 2 years, worked here (commuted from the Bay) for 3+


Q: If you could travel anywhere in the world right now, where would it be and why?
Honestly, right now (pandemic times) I’d go almost anywhere! Somewhere on the Mediterranean would probably be my pick (Greece, Malta). Would love to feel the warm water, take in the scenery, and eat the delicious food.

Q: What is one of your favorite movies? TV shows?
Parks and Rec is one of my all-time favorite shows. I re-watched it during maternity leave and it still holds up!

Q: What advice would you give to people?
Choose kind.

Q: What is something on your bucket list?
Re-learn to play the piano (I played for 9 years when I was young, but have lost a lot of skill) and/or learn to play another instrument

Q: What is your go to band when you cant decide what to listen to?
Red Hot Chili Peppers

Q: What current or former local business makes you the most nostalgic about our community?
Whitey’s Jolly Kone

Q: If you could choose anyone that is alive today and not a relative; with whom would you love to have lunch? Why? And where locally would y’all meet for this lunch?
There are so many people, but in this moment I think I’d pick Tina Fey. She’d keep me cracking up! We’d go somewhere like Drake’s for pizza and beers.

Q: What is your favorite thing or something unique about our community?
You can get to the ocean or the mountains quickly. I love the easy access to the I-5 corridor. And the weather is amazing for nearly the entire year! (This is coming from someone who lived in rain, rain, rain for months on end).

Q: Where do you see yourself in 5 to 10 years?
Hopefully happy and fulfilled in family and career.

Q: (Even for friends or family), what is something interesting that most people don’t know about you?
I do the NYT crossword puzzle every day.

Q: What is the most beautiful place you have ever been?
I’d have to say Iceland – specifically the Jökulsárlón Glacier Lagoon.

Q: Favorite month? favorite holiday? and best single day on the calendar?
Favorite month is probably June; Christmas for holiday. The best single day is whatever day of the year we “spring forward”.

Q: What would you rate a 10 out of 10?
A perfectly ripe local peach (when they’re in season).

Q: Who inspires you to be better?
My husband and daughter

Q: What is one or two of your favorite smells?
Coffee, fresh cut grass

Q: What is one business you would like to have in West Sacramento? (which we don’t have one already)
Trader Joe’s

Q: Finally, what 3 words or phrases come to mind when you think of the word HOME?
Warm, open, inviting